## **Short Biography**

## Prof. Swadhin Mandal, FASc, FNA Professor, Department of Chemical Sciences, IISER Kolkata Email: <u>swadhin.mandal@iiserkol.ac.in</u> Web: <u>http://swadhin-mandal.weebly.com</u>



Swadhin Mandal is a professor at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) in Kolkata. Earlier, he was head of the Department of Chemical Sciences at IISER Kolkata from 2018 to 2020. He earned his BS and MS degrees from the University of Kalyani. In 2002, he received his doctorate from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, under the supervision of Prof. S. S. Krishnamurthy. He then worked as a postdoctoral fellow with Prof. Robert C. Haddon at the University of California, Riverside, USA and as an Alexander von Humboldt fellow with Prof. Herbert W. Roesky at the University of Göttingen, Germany. He joined IISER Kolkata as an assistant professor in 2007 and was promoted to full professor in 2018. His current research interests include metal-free catalysis with reactive electron-rich main group species for discovering new chemical transformations of CO<sub>2</sub> and electron transfer catalysis with small molecules in various organic transformations. His research has been published in several high-profile international journals (over 125 publications and patents), including Nature, Nature Catalysis, JACS, Angew Chem, Chem Sci, and others. To date, he has guided 14 students to their PhD degrees.

## **Professional Recognitions:**

- Elected Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, 2024
- Appointed (courtesy appointment) as Visiting Professor of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, USA, 2024
- Awarded the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, 2022
- Awarded the Erna and Jakob Michael Visiting Professorship at Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, 2022
- Elected Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, 2021
- Visiting Professor, IIT Bombay during 2020-2023
- Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Chemical Sciences for 2018 (one of the most coveted awards by the Govt. of India in natural sciences, medicine and engineering)
- Editorial Advisory Board member: Chemical Science (2020-2022) Inorganic Chemistry (2019- 2022) Organometallics (2013-2015)
  J. Chemical Science (2018-2021)
- Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) since 2018
- Awarded the SERB Distinguished Investigator Award 2018
- CRSI (Chemical Research Society of India) bronze medal, 2018
- YIM-Young Scientist Award -2012 by YIM-Boston at MIT, Boston, USA